What’s in a Name? – Hannah Victoria

I was supposed to be a boy.

My name was Kevin Jacob. Kevin after my father, Jacob after my great-grandmother’s husband who helped raised my mother. Guess since he died right before my youngest older sister was born, my name was to honor his memory. I was also supposed to have been born around June 22th or something. Did that happen? Nope. I was two weeks late. My mother was supposed to be induced that following Monday. I decided that Friday, July 10th, was a good day. Guess my baby self said “Uh, no. I’m not going out there” to “Uh you think you’re gonna tell me when I’m leaving? Watch this.” My mother’s water broke that evening, but she decided to go for a walk down the pier in Foley (I think it was Foley). Well, by the time she got to the pier, it was time to go to the hospital. A few hours later I was born, with my surprise reveal that indeed I was not going to be a Kevin Jacob. So in that moment my mother came up with Hannah Victoria. With her meaning of Hannah being the same as the name Grace, my name meaning is “God’s grace is victorious”. So here I am. The way I came into the world is kind of how I am now; stubborn. You will not tell me what I’m going to do. On a side note though, supposedly there was another Hannah Victoria baby in the hospital when I was there too. Who knows, I could have had the wrong family this whole time…

h

Leave a Reply

