Week One of Blogging

A week ago yesterday, I put my first blog post on Wix. A week ago today, I made my WordPress account and put my first two post that were originally on Wix on my WordPress blog. Currently my WordPress blog has had 70 views, 29 visitors, and 4 subscribers. I’m surprised at that. I’m surprised that I have any views or even subscribes. Those numbers may be low to most of you, but for me it’s way more than I expected. Of course my Wix blog is not doing as great because a) it doesn’t have the community like WordPress does, and b) my link to my blog is still messed up, so even if you accidentally clicked on one of my links to get there you still wouldn’t see it. But that is beside the point. The point is for something that I started randomly, it is going better that I thought it would so I want to thank the ones who have been reading. Whether you landed on a post on purpose or it was a happy accident, thank you still. So, as this first week ended, I came up with some goals that I would like to reach by the end of my first month blogging:

Post at least four times a week
I would like to post regularly after the new of blogging has worn off. As a sub goal, I would also like to have at least two of those post scheduled and not written last minute. That would still leave me with plenty of time for random posts I decide to do last minute.

Have an average of 5 visitors a day

Have an average of 10 views a day

Have at least 9 subscribers
That’s a small increase to what I have now.

Have an idea of my strengths and weaknesses when it comes to blogging
Not sure how I will go about it. Maybe I can continue to post on the Community Pool to get feedback. I could also post a poll on my blog to get feedback from visitors. We shall see.

Make a decision on blogging
I’m still on the fence about if this is for me or not. At the moment I enjoy whether people enjoy me or not, though that could also be because it’s new and exciting. A few more weeks will probably give me more insight on how much I’m actually enjoying this process.

Make a decision on WordPress vs Wix
Though at the moment it seems like WordPress would be the winner, I still want to seem a little more time with both. I hope that if I decide to continue to blog, I will be able to cut on out, and not have to worry about posting to both.

Have a follow up post on April 18th
And finally, I want to have a deadline and timely follow up regarding my goals and where I stand.

Hopefully I will be able to complete most, if not all, of these goals by the 18th. If not, then that’s okay, but I’m thinking that this will help in showing how far I am coming along in all of this. If you have some feedback, goal related and anything about my blog in general, leave a comment. I would appreciate any help I can get.

Until next time-
h

Leave a Reply

