Maybe I’m not crazy after all…

I was on Facebook the other day, and my friend had posting some results on a personality test she took. Curiosity took over and I decided that I would take the test also. I used to call myself a “C-Type Personality”, meaning “one mixed with multiple contradictions”, but I thought that maybe, by taking this test, I could find something better than that. But before I get to my results, I guess I need to do a little background.

The test I took is based off of the psychological types of Carl Gustav Jung and the Myers–Briggs Type Indicator developed by Katharine Cook Briggs and her daughter Isabel Briggs Myers.

I don’t claim to know everything about this. These short summaries are based off of my understanding of the information from the research that I did. Always do your own research, and never just that someone’s word for it.

Jung’s Typology


Jung typology begins with the theories of Sigmund Freud and Alfred Adler. He saw both as partial truths and on their own were not capable of showing the complete picture because neither one recognized the existence of the different fundamental psychological attitudes, which is the basis of his theory. In his book Psychological Types, people are categorized into four main psychological functions:

  • Perceiving functions
  • Sensation
  • Intuition
  • Judging Functions
  • Thinking
  • Feeling

These are then extended into two attitude types: extraversion and introversion.

  • Extraverted sensation
  • Introverted sensation
  • Extraverted intuition
  • Introverted intuition
  • Extraverted thinking
  • Introverted thinking
  • Extraverted feeling
  • Introverted feeling

Jung theorized that whichever was dominate is the conscious function, while the other is repressed and is the unconscious behavior.

The MBTI


The Myers–Briggs Type Indicator questionnaire was developed by mother daughter duo Katharine Cook Briggs and Isabel Briggs Myers based on Jung’s typology theories. Briggs started researching into personality in 1917, observing the ones around her. She soon had developed her own theory on typology where she proposed four temperaments: meditative or thoughtful, spontaneous, executive, and social. After reading a copy of Jung’s book, she saw the connection to her theories and his, but recognized that he went far deeper than her own.Myers added to her mother’s typological research, which she would eventually take over entirely. After extensively studying Jung’s work , they turned their interest in human behavior into efforts to turn the theory of psychological types to practical use.Jung’s typological regards psychological type as people are either born with, or develop, certain preferred ways of perceiving and deciding. The MBTI sorts these psychological differences into four opposite pairs, or dichotomies, with a resulting 16 possible psychological types.

  • Extroversion/Introversion
  • Sensing/iNtuition
  • Thinking/Feeling
  • Judging/Perception

The 16 types are typically referred to by an abbreviation of four letters—the initial letters of each of their four type preferences (except in the case of intuition, which uses the abbreviation “N” to distinguish it from introversion).

My results


So after taking the test, it showed that I’m an INFJ, supposedly very rare, and ….. complicated like nothing else. Pretty much as contradictory as you can get. Sounds just like me. Some highlights:

  • Sometimes mistaken for extroverts, when reality they are true introverts
  • Can only be emotionally intimate with a chosen few of long-term friends, family, or obvious soulmates
  • Sometimes will suddenly withdraw themselves, even shutting out their intimates
  • Unique perspective of detachment and involvement, causing clear insight, but with empathy causes inner conflicts
  • Inner conflicts in general
  • Deep convictions
  • Believers in “poetic justice”
  • Suspicious about other people’s motives and intentions

Well, that all most matches me completely. So I’m not crazy. I’m just complicated. Now C-Type Personality has a name. If you want to take the test yourself, you can take the one I did here, or you can Google it and take one of your choice. Though sometimes these are not always an accurate way of finding your personality, with the MBTI being criticized by some for different reasons, it’s still fun to do and I feel like mine results explain a lot about me. If you don’t like your results, don’t take it to heart and just do you.

h

Some of my resources:
http://www.humanmetrics.com/personality/type
http://www.humanmetrics.com/personality/infj
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychological_Types
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myers%E2%80%93Briggs_Type_Indicator
Leave a Reply

